Celebrating Summer’s End

by klparry

Hello Friends!

And what a perfect day it is in Southern California. After two days of much needed rain it seems that Mother Nature herself is refreshed, the dust from a dry summer washed away. Outside the sky is an unmarred blue pool, the air warm with a mild breeze just enough to ruffle a skirt. It just doesn’t get any better than this.

With Autumn fast approaching, and summer coming to a close, the days are growing shorter leaving more time for indoor activities and more time to enjoy reading old and new favorite books. Celebrating Summer’s end is the September 22nd release of The Pirate’s Daughter And A King’s Ransom on Kindle.

Do you love Pirate’s? Sailing the high seas and maniacal villains? Are you up for an adventure that includes intrigue and twists? The Pirate’s Daughter And A King’s Ransom by K. L. Parry has all of these and so much more. Pre-order your copies today at the special price of .99 cents. This special offer won’t last for long. Don’t miss out on it!

Here’s an excerpt from The Pirate’s Daughter And A King’s Ransom by K. L. Parry

“It was our second day out when a storm swept down. In the dead of night the titan struck without warning, lifting the seas in a raging fury. Rain fell enough to drown a man should he be too long in it, and winds with the force of a thousand fists battered our sails. The waters churned in all direction, spinning and pitching the ship aft to bow, port to starboard.

“Then, as quick as it had come, the storm lifted.

“Why, it was only by grace that we’d not lost a single man though a few had taken the beating badly. We counted ourselves fortunate until the rising sun revealed what the night had kept from us. Yards, splintered and tangled, twisted in sail and shroud. Crosstrees loosed from their masts. The bowsprit, shattered, its topmast completely gone. But it wasn’t until I ordered the ship about that I discovered the cruelest blow. Our rudder had been lost. With no way to steer the ship we were helpless, adrift, a doomed crew.

Her father leaned forward; his voice dropped low, the shimmer in his eyes reflecting the fire’s glow.

“That day I nearly wept. In my despair, I looked heavenward for forgiveness; into a sky colored deep and rich like the cerulean found on an artist’s pallet and the color of my newborn daughter’s eyes.”

A warm smile creased her father’s face then he slapped his knee.

“Well! I knew right then what had to be done and I set the crew to work. Day and night we labored piecing together what we could for sail, masts and yards. Not a stick of furniture were spared, all would be put to the mend. My own table, I had whittled down for a rudder. And, at each time I feared the task too great, I would look to the sky above and find my determination renewed.

“For three weeks we worked to set our ship right and when finally it was whole, we made for port.

“Oh, ho, we looked a sorry sight, like beggars limpin’ to town, but we were a happy lot for it. Nor did I dally on the docks, but collected my horse post haste and made straight for home. There I found your mother weeping; believing me lost, for my time away was uncommon. I soothed her as best I could and when she’d calmed, took you up in my arms and spoke your true name. My sweet and bonny Blue, I bid you a fair morning.”

4IPDimagefinal5

Until next week,

K. L. Parry

