Ansel Adams

by klparry

th-1Featured Image by Ansel Adams

Hello Friends!

I came across this post from last year and first thought, “YIKES, it needs some editing!”

And once I had done that I thought, “Nice. Let’s repost with an update at the end.” So here it is ūüôā

Awk! Moving into week three of a nicotine and cigarette free existence. It has not been easy for me to set aside my best friend of the last four decades. Not a single night has gone by in these past weeks that I haven’t dreamed of smoking a cigarette. Still, once I decide to do a thing, I see it through to the end. To help with my rehab I’ve been doing my best to keep my mind and body active. Visiting my favorite garden spots, my local Zoo and just walking around town has helped. While browsing through a the local thrift store I picked up a used book on Ansel Adams, the greatest Landscape Photographer of the nineteenth century. It reminded me of how much I love the great outdoors and how I too would love to explore this beautiful country of ours while we still have unspoiled places left to see. Perhaps I could, as Ansel Adams did, inspire others to love it and want to protect it.

In the words of James Alinder, Ansel Adams was a leader in the¬†environmental¬†movement, an impressive¬†musician, a writer of significance, an organizer of support groups, an effective teacher, an aesthetic theorist, a¬†liaison¬†between creative photography and the general public, a systematizer of photography technique, a¬†benefactor of photography and a force that became a symbol of a life well spent.”

One of the many things so remarkable about Adams is the medium of black and white photography that he chose for his art, even after the invention of color film. I have alway admired that and have, in my own amateurish way tried to emulate him.

To quote John Szarkowski who co-authored Ansel Adams: Classic Images, Ansel Adams discovered that the natural world is infinitely varied in aspect, constantly potential, evanescent; that its grand vistas and its microcosms are never twice the same; that the landscape is not only a place but an event.”

If you would like to learn more about Ansel Adams and /or view his body of work go to

http://anseladams.com/about-ansel-adams/

 

2017-02-11 RockyPoint2Ew

Trail Off Rocky Point Road At Sunset by K. L. Parry

UPDATE March 20, 2017. I am happy to say that I am still a non-smoker and I no longer dream of smoking a cigarette. In fact I rarely ever think of it. I have to give credit for this to a book I read, The Easy Way To Stop Smoking by Allen Carr. I highly recommend¬†it. I also have bought a DSLR¬†Camera and am currently enrolled in a photography class as I start to pursue a photography career. Follow your dreams, friends¬†‚ėģ

I

