Part 3 – Continuity in Settings and Places

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Welcome back to my blog and this third post in a four part series on the art of continuity.

Here is another great explanation of continuity in fiction. This comes from NEWAPOCRYPHA at

http://newapocrypha.wikifoundry.com/page/Continuity

In fiction, continuity is often described as consistent linear progression of events seen from the perspective of an outside observer – the audience. Continuity is used to maintain a logical and believable relationship between the objects, people, places, actions, thoughts, motivations and events that make up a work of fiction. ~ Newapocrypha

Once I had decided to use a castle setting in of my novel, I scoured the internet for diagrams and maps. I printed out stacks of images and even bought a calendar picturing castles from around the world. Then I taped them all over my wall so that whenever I looked up from my key board I would see a castle.

Yes, I am a hunt and pecker – deplorable typing skills. Now, back to the point I want to make.

It was important to me that my castle setting seem authentic and for that I needed to have a clear picture in my mind of what that place looked like. By the time I got around to my second draft I had a roughly sketched map of the grounds contained within the walls of Jasper Castle. I now knew exactly where each building was located and in what room my characters slept and how they would travel from one end to the other.

Knowing the details and being able to relay them to your reader helps maintain continuity in your setting; in the world that you have built and where your characters exist.

And don’t be afraid to leave a little tape on the wall.

If you have missed Part 1 and/or Part 2 here are the links.

https://klparry.wordpress.com/2014/12/14/part-1-continuity-of-characters/

https://klparry.wordpress.com/2015/01/01/part-2-continuity-of-objects/

Until next week, I promise! Write On.

~ K. L. Parry

