Part 2: Continuity of Objects

by klparry

Hello Friends!

After a break for the Holidays, I am happy to be back with you with Part 2 of a 4 Part blog on continuity in writing fiction. I like to keep things simple and with that in mind, I’ll do my best to explain my point as simply as I can. I quote a line from A.J. Humpage’s 2012 post in the blog “All Write – Fiction Advice”

http://allwritefictionadvice.blogspot.com/2012/07/keeping-continuity.html.

The idea with continuity is to keep the information consistent from one chapter to the next, so there is a smooth, seamless transition of time, characters, plot, setting and objects.

Your character looks at a picture hung over a fireplace mantel. In another scene he looks at that same picture hanging in a bedroom.

How did that get there?

These small details are easy to miss and one of the things I rely on my beta readers and critique partners to catch. In the meantime, as you write a scene about a place, have a picture in your mind of what objects are there and where they are placed. This will help you maintain continuity.

Until next week, Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

 

