Stuck? Break It Up!

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Holiday delayed, here.

Yesterday evening I received a great complement for advice I had given. It came from one of my fellow writers at a critique group we both attend. She said it was the best advice she had ever received.

I doubt that it was the best, but it was sweet and sure made me happy to have helped her.

This is what I said in response to her having met with some difficulty in moving her story along.

Treat your first draft of your novel as a collection of short stories, keeping common threads throughout, such a main characters and theme. What I mean by that is to treat each progression as a separate story with a beginning, middle and end or conclusion. Then, on further complete drafts you tie all the stories neatly together.

For example. In The Pirate’s Daughter And A King’s Ransom, 15-year-old Blue is a prisoner in Jasper Castle. To thwart her captor and escape she enlists help from the castle staff and escapes.

This scenario plays out over 25 pages in my novel. It has a beginning: Blue is taken prisoner.  A middle: She is distraught then decides to escape. An end: She makes her escape from the castle.

I hope my explanation made some sense.

Until Thursday, WRITE ON!

~ K. L. Parry

 

