Keep the Faith

by klparry

Hello Friends!

I am excited to be home and resuming my regular writing schedule. It is funny how I feel the absence of writing. My life is incomplete without it. However, I did read three books: Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth – GREAT! I cried like a baby.

On the subject of writing, I’ll share with you that I am once again in crisis. A crisis of faith in myself and my work.

I know we writers all go to that ugly place of doubt. Still, knowing this does not always make it easier.

Last month I sent out portions of a revised manuscript of “The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom”. I have yet to receive them back.

Ackkkkk!

Was it not engaging – did my characters fall flat? My writing stinks!

It is horrible to have all those thoughts swimming through my head like little piranhas, nibbling at my confidence.

Perhaps I should not have told my beta readers to take their time – I was working on another project when I enlisted their help. And, I know that one has been traveling back and forth from California to Florida every week since receiving the manuscript. She leaves for Japan today and promises to have a comprehensive critique for me on her return.

Still, why has it taken so loooong?

This is where my rational, adult brain takes over. It tells me to calm down. Stop dwelling on it and go to work on something else – as a writer, there is always another story to tell.

I’ll take the advice.

Until thursday, Write On!

– and keep the faith 🙂

~ K. L. Parry

 

