Pen and Paper vs. Keyboard and Screen

by klparry

Hello Friends!

This morning I was determined to put a little time in on a small writing project I’ve been working on – a novelette.

It was a beautiful morning inspiring me to take pen and paper, along with my morning cup of decaf, to my porch where I sat filling page after page with words. No looking back, correcting or indenting – no concern for format – just writing. By the time I was ready to re-fill my cup I had penned five pages.

Isn’t that how a first draft should go – the words flowing from your fingertips to the page uninhibited.

Yes, it is messy and disorganized, but it is first draft, not meant to make sense to anyone but yourself – raw unedited ideas – virgin phrasing and dialogue. So different from the keyboard and screen that constantly begs to be looked at with its glaringly red and green wiggly lines pointing out misspelt words and improperly constructed sentences. Which, by the way, are great tools come following drafts but completely unnecessary and inhibiting of free-flow writing.

It’s no competition. Pen and paper, and keyboard and screen – it’s just knowing their place.

There is much written on this subject. Check out what others have to say by following the links below.

http://www.writerstreasure.com/pen-and-paper-vs-computer/

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2011/nov/03/creative-writing-better-pen-longhand

http://blog.paperblanks.com/2012/04/better-to-write-with-journals-or-computers/

Tell me what you think. Do you have a preference? 

Until tomorrow, Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

 

