Author P.L. Travers / Saving Mister Banks

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Last night – late, after putting in a full day of gardening in 90+ temperatures and gusting winds – which isn’t as bad as it sounds – I poured myself a glass of wine and settled down in front of the television to watch a movie. My selection was Saving Mister Banks, screen play written by Kelly Marcel and Sue Smith.

I know this film was released last year but I just can’t get out to theater as much as I would like and besides, my couch is very comfy.

Last year when I saw the first preview, I thought the movie about the making of Mary Poppins. That assumption was not entirely correct. It turns out that is only one of the subplots to this sumptuously rich story. What the movie most importantly portraits is the journey of popular children’s books author, P.L. Travers as she learns to write her own happy ending – an ending that could only come by letting go of her own childish guilt and finding forgiveness for the father she so desperately loved, yet who had so tragically disappointed her.

Had I been forewarned, I would have had a box of kleenex by my side. I cried through the whole damn thing as the real-to-life characters pulled at my inner-most emotions and took me back to my own childhood and tragic disappointments.

Fantastic writing of a very moving and insightful story. Wonderful acting, of course, it’s Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, along with Colin Farrell and a slew of talented actors.

Sadly, in real life, P. L. Travers never came to find enlightenment as was depicted in the movie. Quoting Wikipedia: “According to her grandchildren, Travers ‘died loving no one and with no one loving her.’ ”

Kind’a wished I’d never read this – taints the happy ending of the movie 😦

images

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saving_Mr._Banks

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P._L._Travers

Until tomorrow, Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

