Writing Group S.S. Prompts

by klparry

Hello Friends!

I’m not sure that I mentioned my Writing Class has evolved into a Writer’s Group. Our first meeting we held at a bar while waiting on word from Barnes & Noble as to available table space.

Did you know Barnes & Noble will host local Writing Groups? Yes, they will. Just speak to the store manager and they will put you in contact with one of their directors.

Any who, during this first meeting we decided to incorporate a weekly writing prompt, but there seemed to be some confusion on where to find them.

I took it upon myself to gather a collection of prompts from an on-line site that I thought would not only inspire but, once put together, could result in a novelette – providing a goal for the three-month commitment we are asking our group members to make. I’ll share it with you – perhaps you might want to follow along with us.

http://www.workingwritersclub.com/creative-writing-prompts/

SHORT STORY PROMPTS

Provided here are seven weeks of prompts interspersed with three FREE weeks according to our meeting schedule.You choose the characters, past or present tense. Be consistent.

 1. (CHARACTER) counted the cash he/she/I had collected from the ATM. He/She/I turned around to find a man with a gun in his hand standing…

2. Every morning it was the same thing for (CHARACTER). He/She/I would put on a pot of coffee and get dressed as he/she/I waited for the coffee to brew. But today, things would be different…

Free Week: Polish up – based on critiques – 1 thru 2.

3. The weatherman said/says rain all day, and there was/is nothing (CHARACTER) could do about it…

4. (CHARACTER) said it was an accident, but was/is it, really….

5. The rain tap, tap, tapped against the windows as (CHARACTER) sat in the kitchen sipping his/her/my 10th cup of coffee. It was way past noon, yet he/she/I was still in his/her/my ratty bathrobe and bunny slippers. He/She/I didn’t care.

Free Week: Polish up _ based on critiques – 3 thru 5.

6. (CHARACTER) was/is sick and tired of being pushed around. Today he/she/I was finally going to do something about it.

7. Describe a St. Patrick’s Day parade appealing to all 5 senses: taste, touch, smell, sight, hear.

Free Week 12: Polish up – based on critique – 6 thru 7.

Write one chapter each week based on the prompt. Email to fellow members to be critiqued at the next meeting. At the end of 12 weeks you will have a Novelette – I hope!  🙂

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

