Negative Influences In Writing Styles

by klparry

Hello Friends!

As writers, we all know the importance of reading. Reading, is like studying for the student – it helps us hone our skills by absorbing the examples of other writers. For this very reason  we should be careful in what we choose to read for those examples will stick in our heads.

It has been said if you find yourself reading a book you consider bad, throw it away. I believe the same should apply if you find yourself reading material that goes completely against your own style of writing.

In recent weeks I read a book written in present-tense. I noticed that when I was working on my own manuscript I kept leaning towards present-tense edits despite the fact that I had written my novel in past tense. Because I had been reading the book, my mind wanted to continue in that writer’s style. It hindered my progress with my own work.

That experience taught me a valuable lesson – to read in a style similar to my own

– at least while I’m editing.

Have you had other’s writing styles negatively influence your own?

Until tomorrow, Write On!

~ K.L. Parry

