The Fad of Present Tense in Fiction

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Forgive my absence yesterday, I was busy cooking, hiking and eating with my oldest son and his girlfriend who are visiting during their college break.

I did sneak a nap in.

Let’s talk about present tense, the latest craze in fiction writing.

My first introduction to this fad – which I hope it is – started with the Hunger Games series moving to Patrick Ness’s The Chaos Walking Trilogy and on into a series I’m reading by independent author, Davis Estes, The Dwellers.

As you have probably guessed, I am not a fan of the present tense style. I find it awkward and shallow, sometimes including thoughts or actions that are not necessary – even cluttering up the story, and in the case of book two of The Chaos Walking Trilogy – too harried. It also – in my opinion – feels juvenile. What I mean by that, is it reminds me of early beginning readers books, Dick and Jane.

“See Spot run. Run, Spot, run.”

I’d like to make clear that I did enjoy the titles I’ve listed above, particularly Ness’s The Knife of Never Letting Go – which I thought was brilliant. This one book is the stand out, for me. Having said that, I can also say  – with certainty – that I will not be re-reading any of the titles mentioned as I do with other authors. One pass was sufficient.

To read more on the subject follow the link to an article found on Writer’s Digest.

http://www.writersdigest.com/online-editor/the-pros-and-cons-of-writing-a-novel-in-present-tense?et_mid=665856&rid=239518498

What do you think of writing fiction in the present tense?

Until tomorrow – Write on!

~ K.L. Parry

