Nature’s Beauty Shines Through

by klparry

Hello Friends!

When I was a girl, many moons ago, I would borrow my parent’s Ford Pinto and drive out to a place called Chatsworth Park. I usually had our dog, Jackie with me along with a sketch pad, and on one or two occasions, a 6-pack of illegally purchased beer. There I would spend the day hiking, rock climbing, sketching and enjoying the quiet beauty of my surroundings. That was 1976.

IMG_0904

Then life interrupted – my dreams of an artist’s future dashed, I went on to do other things – never to return.

Until today.

It was in the company of warm memories and my friend Howard that I hiked the old trails of my teenage haunt. Though many of the picnic spots have been closed off behind fences and confusing signs post ‘No Trespassing’, we were still able to access my old entry point into the rocky park. Of course, the city side vistas have changed and there is hardly a spot where some intrusive graffiti isn’t displayed along with the scattered debris of a million shattered bottles. Yet, the park’s natural beauty still shines through and it is just as inspiring today as it had been on that first hike.

IMG_0928

Maybe, one day – after I make a few million on book sales or hit the lottery, I can do something about restoring my park. Now that would really be something!

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K.L. Parry

 

IMG_0908

