Get Off The Stage!

by klparry

Hello Friends!

As I was perusing the internet, looking for a topic for today’s post I came across some quotes from Author George Pelecanos – a writer of 18 novels including Hell to Pay and Soul Circus both of which won The Los Angeles Times Book Prizes. He’s also a film and television producer and writer for the HBO series The Wire. Though I’ve never read his works or seen the TV series, I think his credentials show that he has managed some serious success.

One particular quote of his got my attention. Below is the first and last line of it.

I do believe that a series should end after a few books. You should know when to get off the stage. 

I can see his point, citing Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse novels which lost steam and my interest around book  9 or 10. I can’t remember which one it was but I did read most all.

On the other hand, I’m waiting for George R.R. Martin to release the last two of seven books in A Song of Fire and Ice series.

Perhaps the most important part of his quote is the last line. You should know when to get off the stage.

Here’s a link to Writers Write and George Pelecanos’s quotes.

http://writers-write-creative-blog.posthaven.com/literary-birthday-18-february-george-pelecano

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K.L. Parry

