My Role Model – American Icon – Shirley Temple

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Yesterday we marked the passing of an American Icon – Shirley Temple. Though her acting career ended before I was born her films continued to air on local television stations across the nation, introducing her to a new audience of young viewers for which I was one.

My two favorite films and those my sisters and I watched at every opportunity, to my insistence, were The Little Princess and Captain January. And, perhaps it is more the writers of these two stories that I should give credit to – for providing me with the models of father-daughter type relationships that I was bereft of, and that instilled in me the idea of never giving up on your heart’s desires.

To them credit follows as such – a screenplay written by Ethel Hill and Walter Ferris, a loose adaptation of The Little Princess written by Frances Hodgson Burnett – screenplay by Sam HellmanGladys Lehman, and Harry Tugend based on the story The Lighthouse at Cape Tempest by Laura E. Richards.

Mrs Temple-Black went on to do even more remarkable things – running for political office and receiving government appointments, still it was the on-screen presence of a young actress that I will remember best – that brought characters and there circumstances to life and impressed upon me ideas of devotion and ‘love of family’ that have followed me through my journeys. I shall forever be grateful for those contributions and the model one young girl has provided me.

To you, Mrs Shirley Temple Black, who continues to inspire me – I thank you.

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

