Let Go Of The Fear

by klparry

Hello Friends!

As those of you who follow my posts know I’ve been pitching a fit over the fact that I haven’t been able to watch the Winter Olympic Games. I’m happy to say that was remedied yesterday when I returned to my Sunday job where I was able to view NBC’s early evening taped broadcast from Soshi.

How about that fifteen-year-old Russian girl, Julia Lipnitskaia!? Wow, what a treasure. I was mesmerized by her as she skated in the women’s freestyle team competition. And she wasn’t the only athlete to catch my attention.

America’s Gracie Gold, though giving an almost flawless performance really plucked my heart-strings when she spoke to reporters. Here is a quote from that interview in which she cites an inspirational lesson received from former Bulls head coach, Phil Jackson.

“We’ve been reading Phil Jackson’s book, and you know, when you let go of all the fear, that’s when you find the love for, not just sports, but anything in life.”

That statement really resonated with me and made me ask, “How can you be at your best if you’re living in constant fear of failure?”

The answer is you can’t – I can’t – none of us can if our fear of failure and ridicule are holding us back.

So, throw out those fears and go for it! The worst that can happen is you won’t succeed – the best that can happen it that you will. If you don’t believe me ask eighteen-year-old Olympian Gracie Gold 🙂

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

