Dude! It’s The Freakin’ Winter Olympics!

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Today I come to you with heartbreaking news. I missed the Winter Olympic Games Opening Ceremonies!

I’m boo-hoo-ing in my coffee.

Yes, I am a fan of the Winter Olympics. I love the ice skating, skiing, snow boarding and luge – running. Not that I have any skill in these sports or for that matter, have I any experience – except for a once failed ski lesson and a recent spin around an ice-rink with a plastic skating aid named Sammy.

Still, I spent an hour or more this morning surfing the web looking for video. I found snippets here and there, mostly related to the Olympic Torch and the ring failure on the Olympic sign, but very little on the actual ceremony. I was teased with images of a girl on a wire and what looked like a scene from Disneyland’s It’s A Small World – I found an image of athletes in patriotic Ralph Lauren sweaters but other than that, nada.

Sure, there were plenty of wanna-be broadcasters with posted reviews on Youtube.

Seriously? This isn’t a movie or television show. It’s a live event, Dude – involving millions of people from across the globe! It’s impressive everyone showed up.

So what’s my point?

There is none.

Just wished I could have seen the opening ceremony for the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi. 😦

Until tomorrow, Write On!

~ K.L. Parry

