Red Letter Editing

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Have you ever had to go line for line between two separate pages of text, trying to find a word that’s been changed or a comma that’s been converted into a period after having someone edit your work?

It’s not easy and almost impossible to find all the changes unless they’ve been highlighted  in some manner.

I recently ran into this problem after receiving from my awesome editor the first fifty pages of my manuscript. I was ecstatic to see that she’d only red-highlighted a few words – adding a note regarding the tenses that I had fiddled with before sending it back. So doing a quick comparison of documents, I made her suggested corrections to my original and went to work on reverting my tenses.

Any – who, it wasn’t until the next day that I discovered all of my editor’s work had not been highlighted and I had not caught all of her fixes.

UGH!

My point here is this – Consistency. Wether it’s you doing the editing or someone else, consistency with the process is paramount if it’s to be efficient. Don’t make the author work so hard to find your corrections because at this point, we’re tired – well, at least I am 😉

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K.L. Parry

 

 

