#10 Writing Exercise & Heroes

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Putting to practice the proverb – “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” – last night I elected to accompany a friend to a viewing of the movie Jack Ryan Shadow Recruit based on a character from popular Tom Clancy novels and dedicated to Tom Clancy who died this past October.

I wasn’t disappointed either. This is an original story, fast paced, full of intrigue, action and lots of familiar faces. I’ll not give a full review with synopsis however I will say this – if you like themes that include international espionage, misguided love of country and the resurrection of a defeated hero – you’ll enjoy this movie.

Quickly touching on the topic of heroes. As I made my morning coffee I was pondering on the public figures that I looked up to as a youth. The two that came immediately to mind were – Jacques Cousteau the french explorer, researcher and conservationist and Johnny Quest – cartoon character and adventurer.

Hum, I wonder what that says about me? 😉

Tell me, who were some of yours?

Day 10 of A 12-Day Plan Of Simple Writing Exercises as posted by Brian A Klems on WritersDigest.com

10. Go sit in a public place and eavesdrop on a conversation. Turn what you hear into a short love story ( no matter how much you have to twist what they say)

Until tomorrow, Write On!

~ K.L. Parry

