Day 9 Exercise and Advise

by klparry

Hello Friends!

I’d once read a post written by agent Rachelle Gardner that suggested setting your completed manuscript aside for up to a year before returning to edit.

I thought this advise was ludicrous!

Until I did it.

It wasn’t intentional. I was busy on other projects. Then the holidays rolled around – November and December. During those two months I have no time for anything that isn’t directly related to my earnings and the holidays. In January, when I finally came back to re-read my manuscript I was amazed. Amazed at how much I’d learned over the last 8 months and amazed at what I could “polish up” even though I had already gone through it  several times before.

I know it’s a lot to ask of an Author – to put aside their baby for such a long period of time.

I know that sense of impatience and the desire to rush to get your work out there. I’ve truly been there.

But please, take my advise – rein that horse in! You’ll only benefit from it.

Want to see Rachelle’s Blog? Copy and paste the following web address to your browser.

http://www.rachellegardner.com/

Day 9 of A 12-Day Plan of Simple Writing Exercises by Brian A Klems as posted on WritersDigest.com

9. Turn on your TV. Write down the first line that you hear and write a story based on it.

Until tomorrow – Write On!

~ K. L. Parry

