Developing Skills Through Writing Exercises

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Question.

Are you a natural? What I mean is – are you a natural born writer.

It’s a great place to start, but it’s not enough that it comes easy to you. It’s not enough that you have a passion for the written word – that all you dream about is to author the next best selling novel. You need skills – mad skills. And to get those skills you need training and to practice that training.

For me, 2014 is all about improving my skills as a writer. So in pursuing that I came across a post from Writer’s Digest.com by Brian A. Klems – A 12-Day Plan of Simple Writing Exercises.  It outlines a fun and creative group of writing exercises.

I’d like to invite my blog reading, writer friends out across the ethernet to join me by participating in this 12 day plan starting with the first challenge on the list: creating 10 potential book titles you’d like to write.

It sounds easy, huh?

I thought so too until I realized I’d never stretched myself past a sequel to the current manuscript I’m working on.

Klems, you evil genius! What a clever way to get the writer thinking in the long-term – on the long tail – visualizing potential plots and characters.

Until tomorrow. Write on my Friends!

~K.L. Parry

 

 

