NaNoWriMo Drop-Out

by klparry

Hello Friends!

Did you guess the answer to last week’s riddle?

Let me refresh your memory.

I construct just to destruct then construct again using neither hammer nor saw, wood nor straw. My creations might shade your head but they will not keep you dry in a storm, yet many take refuge in them. What am I? 

The answer is – I am a Writer.

Clever, huh? I made that one up all by myself 😉

So – as you might have suspected by the post’s title, I am also a National Novel Writing Month Drop-Out!

That’s right and I’m not ashamed to admit it! November and December are my busiest months out of the year with  holiday preparations – ( I list this first because it’s my favorite), family visits and increased hours at my survival jobs.

But just because I dropped out before completing the task of constructing a 50,000 word first draft novel doesn’t mean that the time I did put in was a waste. Ah contraire, friends. I’ve got the beginnings of my next story which I will start work on once I get this, (fingers crossed), last revision to The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom out of the way.

In closing, I’d like to congratulate all those who did meet their writing goals for November and temper it with some advice.

A first draft is only that.

There are many more re-writes to come before your manuscript will be polished enough for public consumption. Don’t rush it! Take whatever time is required to make it your very best.

In my personal opinion it’s the second draft that’s the really fun part. That’s when the magic happens and the words come to life.

Until next week, Write On, my Friends!

~ K.L. Parry

