Don’t Call Out The Brute Squad!

by klparry

Hello Friends and welcome back to another installment of “As The NaNo World Spins”.

(Chuckling here at my own dated reference to the iconic soap opera series, As The World Turns, that aired for over 50 years on CBS.)

Anyways. This week I’ve lost a little momentum.

Okay, I won’t sugar coat it. I have ground to a halt in my attempt to complete a 50,000 word first draft in 30 days.

I know what happened. I broke the first rule of Write Club … I didn’t write!

I can hear you all GASP in horror as you shrink back from your computer screens. But before you call out the Brute Squad let me tell you what I did do this last week.

I entered Writer’s Digest 14th Annual Short Story Competition!

Do you know how many of your favorite authors were first recognized when their short stories appeared in popular publications? Well, I don’t either but I know the numbers are there including mega-star George R.R. Martin author of the hugely popular series A Song of Fire and Ice that spawned HBO’s Game of Thrones.

And who doesn’t like writing short-stories?

So here’s the real question. Have you a winning story in less than 1,500 words?

Then enter for your chance to win $3,000 in cash, get published inWriter’s Digest magazine, and a paid trip to Writer’s Digest Conference in New York City!

There is a small fee of $20.00 if you enter before November 15th. I think it goes up to $25.00 until the final cut-off on December 16, 2013.

No. I haven’t totally given up on NaNoWriMo. I’ll be back at it tomorrow hammering out the plot line. More on that I’ll save for next week.

Until then, WRITE ON! – my Friends 🙂

~ K.L. Parry

Are you a fan of George R.R. Martin? Check out his live journal @ http://grrm.livejournal.com/

 

