Coming Up For Air!

by klparry

As I thought about a blog topic for this week my mind went to a book that I’ve been reading. I won’t mention the title and author’s name since my intentions are not to call that person out on what I perceive are errors. My intentions are only to point out a common mistake made by Fiction Writers – the overly long running sentence.

Read it out loud. If you’ve run out of breath before reaching the end of that sentence, it’s too long!

Okay. So you’ve thrown in some commas and semi-colons but wait – it’s still too long because the reader has lost tract of where the sentence began and what it was originally stating.

Listen. I’m not saying don’t ever do this. There has to be some consideration given for individual style, but over use of long-running sentences is exhausting for the reader and sends me looking for an oxygen tank.

On a personal note. The book I’m reading is one of several. Though I am enjoying the story, I’d love it even more if I didn’t have to constantly stop to come up for air.

Until next week, “Write on!” my friends.

~ K.L. Parry

