First Draft Read?

by klparry

Great! You’ve finished the first draft of your book. But do you let others read it?

Only if your first draft is near to perfection!

If you’re like me, the first draft of your novel can be almost unintelligible to anyone but yourself. Allowing someone to read it can prove to be very disappointing especially for the first time author.

My advise, though I am by no means an expert, is to wait until you’ve completed the second draft.

I was very fortunate to have a wonderful friend that allowed me to email him a chapter at a time as I was writing that second draft. He was so helpful in letting me know if I had rushed through something that needed more explanation or if a scene was inappropriate or didn’t work. I remember one response from my friend after he’d read a chapter describing a first kiss. He told me it read like a steamy romance. Good, if that’s what you’re writing but it isn’t. We did argued a bit over it. But in the end he was right and I toned down the scene for my younger target audience.

So now you’ve got your second draft in hand. It’s ready for critique. But who should read it?

Listen. Forget about family. Most of them are not going to be as honest with you as you need them to be. Of course it’s nice to be praised for having completed this monumental feat but you also need feed back that is going to be of some real use to you. Give your manuscript to those unafraid of hurting your feelings. Give it to friends that read a lot. And if you are writing for YA, I use this as an example, give it to those readers. Also there are some great critique sites like YouWriteOn.com. They can help you with those, all to important, first chapters.

Don’t be afraid of criticism. Listen to it, decide if it has merit and apply it if need be. Your work will be better for it.

Also, just to brag, my novel, The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom just received a great review from Miranda Miller @ Historical Novel Review. You can follow the link to read her article.

Until next week where I’ll be posting to @funstuffblogandreviews.

Write on my friends!

~ K.L. Parry ~ Author of The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom

 

NOTE: It has come to my attention that some or all of the links I’ve imbedded in my posts are not responding. Since I can’t figure out how to fix that I’ll do my best to provide those same links to the right on my WordPress page. That will require you viewing it directly from the page itself. Thank you.

