Where Do You Find Inspiration?

by klparry

Sorry for the tardiness of my post this week. I needed a few days to recuperate from a grueling work week.

Inspiration. “Where do the ideas come from?” you ask.

Let me tell you.

They comes from day-to-day situations at home, in the work place and from those we interact with as we go about the business of living. They come from our past, our present and what we dream is our future. A smell, a sound, any site we see can give inspiration if you’re willing to receive it.

My own lack of a father figure and my imagined ideas of what he would have been like, was the inspiration for Perseus Pergamum, the father characterized in my novel “The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom”. But Perseus is more than just my imaginings, faint memories and the influence of  television sitcoms. He’s also a caricature of certain people who have touched my life over the years. A conglomeration of sorts. For me, this is where the deep stuff comes from.

For those of you who may not know, I’ve worked Renaissance Faires for many years. It was fascinating, to say the least and has provided me with an endless supply of inspiration. And yes, a little knowledge of the era too.

It also awakened in me a love for history. I’ve never been one to enjoy the drone of a dull text where names and dates are piled, one on top of the other, into books that rattle off fact after fact. I much prefer a more personal approach. Like the letters of Bonaparte. That is the kind of writing that truly allows one to see the world as it was. I think I would have loved studying the civil war if it would have been presented to me through some personal perspectives. Names, places and dates are all well and good but they are dry and hollow and don’t really show us of what life was really like for those who were present at the time.

Back to the subject of inspiration and where it comes from. I was inspired for a story by a program on the discovery channel about the longest living caterpillar. Its sole purpose is to eat all that it can, taking in the nutrients it needs to become a butterfly. But because the summers are so short in the Arctic, the caterpillar often fails. So, year after year, 10 to 15 or more, it must wait, burrowing under a rock come winter. The caterpillar literally freezes, then remarkably defrost when the weather warms to eat as much as it can find in hopes that this season it will be enough to enable the caterpillar to make the transformation. Of course, once it does, the butterfly has only a short time to live, dying after it has laid its eggs.

Fascinating reality! It is the only living creature, according to the program’s narrator, that can freeze solid and defrost without catastrophic cell damage. In other words, the ice crystals don’t turn it into mush. But that little scientific fact isn’t what inspired me. It’s this creature who dies to be reborn every season until it can fulfill its purpose. Now that is the kind of stuff that gives birth to a great story!

Inspiration is everywhere. We just need to see with out eyes, listen with our ears and pay a little more attention to what is happening around us.

There was certainly an abundance of it at this year’s So. Cal. Original Renaissance Pleasure Faire. Mayhap, it will inspire thee!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where have you found inspiration?

Don’t forget that next week’s post will be to my other blog funstuffblogandreviews. Until then, write on my friend.

~ K. L. Parry ~ Author of The Pirate’s Daughter and a King’s Ransom

