Kinda Makes You Think?

by klparry

On occasion, I find the time to read posts by other authors and agents. And often they give advise to help unrecognised writers such as myself, which is great. But sometimes I have to laugh, a bit sarcastically, when I read some of their recommendations.

I think I am like most people in that I have to earn a living outside of the literary world. I have a job that has absolutely nothing to do with writing. So when I read about how I should be putting down so many thousands of words a day, reading so many other published works, researching this and that and the other thing, I wonder how it is that I am supposed to do all that? After all, there are only 24 hrs in a day and a big chunk of that is consumed by the essential, “I have to feed myself” job. Don’t these people know that I, like most of you, have to work? I can only assume that they think I have the luxury of time. Perhaps that I may have a spouse that supports me financially or that I am lucky enough to have hit the lottery. Maybe they think that I don’t need sleep. That may be true for some, but I can’t believe that is the norm. And of course, they’ve already “made it” so to speak, so it’s easy for them to say “make the time”. They are not concerned with having to leave their lap tops to go sling drinks at the local bar for tips so they can keep a roof over their heads.

So though, I know “their ” advise is well-meaning, stop! The goals you are setting before us are unrealistic and frankly discouraging. Then again, perhaps, that’s the point. Hum? Kinda makes you think?

 

And here’s another one for ya. Many of them say I should be looking to what has already been written in the genre that I am writing. But why would I want to do that? Why would I want to write about what others already have. Shouldn’t my stories be unique unto themselves? Isn’t the whole point to set your writing apart from others? I don’t want to be a copy-cat or part of the mill that just turns out endless repetitive stories where the only thing that differentiates one for another is the character’s names. I don’t want to write on a topic that has already seen a flood of manuscripts. Why should or would I want to follow the formula of a million other writers? Don’t I want to be recognised for my own merit?

 

Well, here’s what I think about that.  Screw those guys, I’m going home, to write what I want…,lol.  (Been wanting to use that one 😉 ) B www.free-wallpaper

Well, I think I’ve ranted enough for one day. In the meantime, keep the faith, my friends.

~ K. L. Parry ~ author of “The Pirate’s Daughter And A King’s Ransom”

