I Am Number 4

by klparry

AMC Theater in Downtown Burbank

Off the subject of my Book; yesterday, being Tuesday, I woke in a funk. (I usually start getting antsy this time of year. I’m discontented with everything and I really don’t know why that is.) It was a day off from work so I plunked down at my computer, checked my Facebook, read my emails, tweeted, then decided to go back to bed and sleep the rest of the day away. Yea…, that only lasted a couple of hours and then I was wide awake contemplating what I would do with the rest of my day. I didn’t want to cook, I didn’t want to clean, I was in no mood to work on the book in any fashion. I needed an adventure of some kind. I had been wanting to see a movie but had been holding back because I didn’t want to spend my funds. (Saving up to buy stock for the Mermaid Convention). But, to heck with it, I had to get out! So I put on something cute and comfy, slipped on my cowgirl boots and pushed my sorry butt out my front door.

My mood immediately lifted as I walked the mile or so to the theater downtown. I bought me a ticket to the 5pm showing of I Am Number 4. I did have to wait around for an hour and I was glad I had brought my book to occupy me.

Well, my immediate need was fulfilled; (I’ll give you my short review of the movie at the end of this post). I stepped into the cool evening air and took a deep breath before I looked for a place to sneak a cigarette. Then I leisurely strolled through the outside mall, grabbed a cup of decaf, perused a couple of stores, picked up a plastic tiara for an Oscar party I’m working and made my way home with a smile on my face and a skip in my step.

Funny how sometimes just a change in routine can make all the difference in the world.

Now, about the Movie without giving too much away. Definitely a teen flick with an edge. The plot reminds me of the  TV series “Roswell”. You have a confused young man coming into the knowledge of his alien heritage. Teenage dilemmas, some very good action scenes and for the most part the movie held my attention. In the teen-movie genre I give it a B and much better than the Twilights which I thought were C’s at best.

~ K.L. Parry ~

 

