Instant Gratification

by klparry

It’s a maddening thing when you discover that you can’t do everything for yourself. I am not good at sitting back to wait. If only I could wiggle my nose or fold my arms across my chest and blink my desires into existence for that instant gratification.

I am one of those people who when I want something done, I just do it right then and there. It’s like when I wanted the outside Christmas lights hung. I have two sons who offered to put them up but I couldn’t wait for them to have a day to do it. Once I had decided, I pulled out the ladder and hung them up myself. The same went for taking them down and I am reminded everyday of my foolishness by the pain in my shoulder.

I don’t know whether it’s that I’m independent or impatience, probably a little bit of both, but I usually don’t wait for the help that is often offered when it comes to getting a project done. So I’m finding it difficult and somewhat stressful that there are projects I’ve set up that are not completed. Particularly the ones involving my novel.

Don’t get me wrong. I am so grateful for all the help that has come my way. Lord knows that I don’t have the skills that are required to do what others have kindly volunteered to do for me. Certainly without their expert help, I wouldn’t be looking forward to having an awesome web page/site and new illustrations for my book. It is just that I am so anxious and excited to see it all come together that I’m driving myself crazy. Perhaps it’s time to get back to what I can do and that is write.

“Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.” ~ John Quincy Adams

A quote I’d do well to remember.

~ K.L. Parry ~

You can preview and purchase my book @ http://www.klparry.com or go to Blurb.com

 

 

